Hawke’s Bay Art Review Exhibition and Gala Opening

16 Byron Street, Napier

The 2021 Hawke’s Bay Art Review will now be on display at CAN from Friday 19 November – 8 December 2021.

The Hawke’s Bay Art Review is a selected exhibition showcasing art excellence in Hawke’s Bay, revived as a biennial competition by Creative Arts Napier in 2017.

Submissions were invited from local emerging and established artists in painting and drawing, printmaking, sculpture, photography, multi-media, design, textiles and ceramics from artists throughout New Zealand, who have close connections to Hawke’s Bay. All the ground floor galleries at Creative Arts Napier will be dedicated to displaying 61 selected works, from a total of 174 entries.

CAN is delighted that Tyson Campbell kindly agreed to be the guest selector for the 2021 Hawke’s Bay Art Review.

At the Gala Opening on Friday 19th November, our Guest Selector and Curator Tyson Campbell will award the Gordon Harris/Team Coldicutt Premier Award of $2000 plus six Highly Commended Awards of $200 each.

Tickets to the Gala opening are strictly limited. If you wish to purchase a ticket, please contact CAN.

About the Guest Selector:

For the past three years Tyson has worked as an artist, writer, community facilitator and independent curator based in Naarm Melbourne and Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland. Over the last two years, through his involvement with Blak Dot gallery, TCB art inc, and Artspace Aotearoa, Tyson developed an emerging curatorial practice that centres on contemporary Indigenous artistic practices.

‘I have taken the initiative to elevate world-Indigenous kinship ties from the position of being Māori: Critical Indigenous studies is at the core of what I do. As an active and engaged member of cross- cultural discourse that emerges between the Australian and Aotearoa New Zealand contexts, I believe my perspective, and lived-experience have a relationship to all disciplines of knowledge that enact themselves on colonised territories.’

Tyson’s current work focuses on Indigenous strategies toward shifting institutional structures and how culturally grounded and communitarian ways of knowing - conversational, celebratory, and respectful kanohi-kitea - can initiate change within such settings.

Tyson is currently working at Artspace Aotearoa in Auckland.

This year's Hawke's Bay Art Review has been made possible by very generous supporters. A big thank you to Gordon Harris, Team Coldicutt of Harcourts, Picture This Framing, Boyd-Dunlop Gallery, Humanity Books, Bay Canon, The Blue Wall and the Hawke's Bay Inkers for sponsoring the Awards.

Thanks also to Rothbury Insurance Brokers, Pub Charity Ltd and Crab Farm Winery for additional sponsorship of the event. We appreciate your support.

Take a look around...

When

Fri 19th Nov 2021, 5:00pm

Sat 20th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 21st Nov 2021, 10:00am

Mon 22nd Nov 2021, 10:00am

Tue 23rd Nov 2021, 10:00am

Wed 24th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Thu 25th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Fri 26th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sat 27th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 28th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Mon 29th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Tue 30th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Wed 1st Dec 2021, 10:00am

Thu 2nd Dec 2021, 10:00am

Fri 3rd Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sat 4th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sun 5th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Mon 6th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Tue 7th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Wed 8th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier