Flirting with Form: Works by Toi Ako Artists

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

Flirting with form: Works by Toi Ako artists is an exhibition that explores the role of the arts and wellbeing in communities, and its effectiveness in supporting older people to age well.

Showcasing works by 13 emerging elder artists aged 56-91, developed over 2019-2020 as part of Connect the Dots pilot mentoring project, Toi Ako which is a creative collaboration between older people living in care and practising artists. This exhibition speaks to the reciprocal nature of learning, where artist mentors have shared their skills, encouraging older participants to bring their unique life experiences to shape their own visual language.

Connect the Dots has been working in community arts for several years and has seen the transformational power art making can bring individuals and communities. Artmaking and creative thinking can increase motor skills and coordination and stimulate cognitive function for older people and people living with dementia. Being engaged in creative programmes improves mood and mental health and combats loneliness by providing opportunities for social connection.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 13th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Tue 16th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Wed 17th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Thu 18th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Fri 19th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Sat 20th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Tue 23rd Mar 2021, 10:00am

Wed 24th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Thu 25th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Fri 26th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Sat 27th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Tue 30th Mar 2021, 10:00am

Wed 31st Mar 2021, 10:00am

Thu 1st Apr 2021, 10:00am

Fri 2nd Apr 2021, 10:00am

Sat 3rd Apr 2021, 10:00am

Tue 6th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Wed 7th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Thu 8th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Fri 9th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Sat 10th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Tue 13th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Wed 14th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Thu 15th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Fri 16th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Sat 17th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Tue 20th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Wed 21st Apr 2021, 10:00am

Thu 22nd Apr 2021, 10:00am

Fri 23rd Apr 2021, 10:00am

Sat 24th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Tue 27th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Wed 28th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Thu 29th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Fri 30th Apr 2021, 10:00am

Sat 1st May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 4th May 2021, 10:00am

Wed 5th May 2021, 10:00am

Thu 6th May 2021, 10:00am

Fri 7th May 2021, 10:00am

Sat 8th May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 11th May 2021, 10:00am

Wed 12th May 2021, 10:00am

Thu 13th May 2021, 10:00am

Fri 14th May 2021, 10:00am

Sat 15th May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 18th May 2021, 10:00am

Wed 19th May 2021, 10:00am

Thu 20th May 2021, 10:00am

Fri 21st May 2021, 10:00am

Sat 22nd May 2021, 10:00am

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings