Yuki Kihara: Te Taenga Mai o Salome

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Poetic and visually alluring photographs and video works from leading interdisciplinary artist Yuki Kihara place the symbolic figure of Salome in the landscape of Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga - Hawke’s Bay.

Kihara was inspired to set her works in the Hawke’s Bay region after reading an account of the great Takitimu waka, built in the artist’s homeland of Sāmoa many generations before carrying ancestors of Ngāti Kahungunu to Aotearoa.

Salome is seen visiting various sites of layered historical and contemporary significance, exploring the connections between local tangata whenua and the people of Sāmoa while critiquing colonial systems.

Artist’s Floor Talk – Yuki Kihara - 8 December, 4pm.

Take a look around...

When

Sun 22nd Apr 2018, 10:00am

Mon 23rd Apr 2018, 10:00am

Tue 24th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Wed 25th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Thu 26th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Fri 27th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 28th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sun 29th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Mon 30th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Tue 1st May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 2nd May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 3rd May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 4th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 5th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 6th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 7th May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 8th May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 9th May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 10th May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 11th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 12th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 13th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 14th May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 15th May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 16th May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 17th May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 18th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 19th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 20th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 21st May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 22nd May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 23rd May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 24th May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 25th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 26th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 27th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 28th May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 29th May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 30th May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 31st May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 1st Jun 2018, 10:00am

Sat 2nd Jun 2018, 10:00am

Sun 3rd Jun 2018, 10:00am

Mon 4th Jun 2018, 10:00am

Tue 5th Jun 2018, 10:00am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier