Sione Faletau: Ata Moana

1 Tennyson St, Napier

'Moana' is a term deeply rooted in Pasifika and Māori communities, where its meaning is the vast expanse of the ocean, sea, and waterways. This installation marks a significant evolution in Sione Faletau’s artistic journey, merging the profound significance of the Moana with mirrors projection mapping.

The core of this project lies in the integration of sculptural elements, primarily geometric triangular mirrors, which harmonise with the immersive experience of video art. Through a meticulous fusion of visual and auditory elements, Faletau breathes life into these sculptural components, using the sounds recorded at Napier’s Marine parade. 

At the heart of Faletau’s practice is the manipulation of soundwaves and orchestrating them into intricate patterns. These patterns, intricately woven into the fabric of the exhibition space, mirror the undulating forms observed in the moana, creating a symbiotic relationship between art and nature.

Image credit: Ata Moana installation
Mirror vinyl woven panels, projection, 2024

Take a look around...

When

Thu 25th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Fri 26th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Sat 27th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Sun 28th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Mon 29th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Tue 30th Apr 2024, 9:30am

Wed 1st May 2024, 9:30am

Thu 2nd May 2024, 9:30am

Fri 3rd May 2024, 9:30am

Sat 4th May 2024, 9:30am

Sun 5th May 2024, 9:30am

Mon 6th May 2024, 9:30am

Tue 7th May 2024, 9:30am

Wed 8th May 2024, 9:30am

Thu 9th May 2024, 9:30am

Fri 10th May 2024, 9:30am

Sat 11th May 2024, 9:30am

Sun 12th May 2024, 9:30am

Mon 13th May 2024, 9:30am

Tue 14th May 2024, 9:30am

Wed 15th May 2024, 9:30am

Thu 16th May 2024, 9:30am

Fri 17th May 2024, 9:30am

Sat 18th May 2024, 9:30am

Sun 19th May 2024, 9:30am

Mon 20th May 2024, 9:30am

Tue 21st May 2024, 9:30am

Wed 22nd May 2024, 9:30am

Thu 23rd May 2024, 9:30am

Fri 24th May 2024, 9:30am

Sat 25th May 2024, 9:30am

Sun 26th May 2024, 9:30am

Mon 27th May 2024, 9:30am

Tue 28th May 2024, 9:30am

Wed 29th May 2024, 9:30am

Thu 30th May 2024, 9:30am

Fri 31st May 2024, 9:30am

Sat 1st Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Jun 2024, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Jun 2024, 9:30am

Tue 4th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Wed 5th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Thu 6th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Fri 7th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sat 8th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sun 9th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Mon 10th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Tue 11th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Wed 12th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Thu 13th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Fri 14th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sat 15th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sun 16th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Mon 17th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Tue 18th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Wed 19th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Thu 20th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Fri 21st Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Jun 2024, 9:30am

Mon 24th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Tue 25th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Wed 26th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Thu 27th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Fri 28th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sat 29th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Sun 30th Jun 2024, 9:30am

Mon 1st Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 2nd Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 3rd Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 4th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Fri 5th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sat 6th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sun 7th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Mon 8th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 9th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 10th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 11th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Fri 12th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sat 13th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sun 14th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Mon 15th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 16th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 17th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 18th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Fri 19th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sat 20th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sun 21st Jul 2024, 9:30am

Mon 22nd Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 23rd Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 24th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 25th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Fri 26th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sat 27th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sun 28th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Mon 29th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 30th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 31st Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 1st Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 2nd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 3rd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 4th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier