Silver Shadows: the story of Marineland

1 Tennyson St, Napier

A visit to Marineland was always something special, a treat, an adventure - the first on the agenda when visiting family or holidaying in Hawke's Bay. This exhibition tells the story from beginning to end, from the fun times through to the controversy and the eventual closure.

Marineland opened 28 January 1965, two days after Daphne, the pool’s first dolphin was captured, and evolved into a major Te Matau-a-Māui/Hawke’s Bay tourist attraction. Over four decades the oceanarium housed several species of marine wildlife including approximately 90 dolphins.

Initially Marineland was purely an entertainment zoo, showcasing intelligent mammals trained to perform complex routines and display comedic human traits. As perceptions changed towards keeping marine mammals in captivity for commercial gain, the role of Marineland shifted toward acting as a sanctuary for injured animals, focusing on education and conservation.

Throughout its complex history, Marineland was subject to controversy, especially over keeping dolphins in captivity. Changing public and government sentiment, along with tired facilities and internal conflict, eventually led to the demise of Marineland. On 25 April 2009, the doors shut for the final time.

When

Sat 28th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Sun 29th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Mon 30th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Tue 31st Jan 2023, 9:30am

Wed 1st Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 18th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 19th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 20th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 21st Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 24th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 25th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 26th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 27th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 28th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 1st Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 28th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Sun 29th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Mon 30th Jan 2023, 9:30am

Tue 31st Jan 2023, 9:30am

Wed 1st Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 18th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 19th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 20th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 21st Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 24th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 25th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 26th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 27th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 28th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 1st Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier