Icebound: Jonathan Kay

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

Icebound is a photographic exhibition by Jonathan Kay. It contemplates the fragility of our landscapes through surveying of two Te Waipounamu glaciers - Haupapa/Tasman and Te Moeka o Tūawe/Fox. Kay explored these glaciers as a way of making sense of the environments impacted by climate change in Aotearoa.

Over five years, and several visits, Kay spent time on these glaciers - observing the lakes and icebergs which carve off during melting and following the streams and rivers which connect this water system. He engaged with a range of photographic processes throughout, using them to investigate the specific environments which form this ancient ecosystem.

Kay’s intensely coloured fabric cyanotypes utilise an early, camera-less photographic technology to capture the physicality and chemistry of the ice and water, while his black and white photographs eschew the spectacular, attempting instead to draw our attention more intimately to a microscopic world.

The timing of Icebound is all too relevant, especially in the wake of devastating climate disasters, and the twenty-sixth United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP 26). Environmental concerns, and the part humans have played in the earth’s undeniable warming, are rarely far from the forefront of people’s minds in today’s socio-political climate.

Icebound offers audiences a chance to examine and reflect on our environment in Aotearoa, and the perilous future our glaciers face in a rapidly warming world.

Jonathan Kay is a photographic artist and lecturer living in Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington. His previous exhibitions include Cryosphere at Ashburton Art Gallery & Jhana Millers Gallery, Negative Mass at Gus Fisher Gallery, WAI—Manga Maha, Awa Kotahi | One River, Many Streams at Aratoi Wairarapa Museum of Art and History, and Nothing but Dust at Wellington Museum. Kay teaches at Whiti o Rehua School of Art, Massey University, New Zealand.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 10th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Sun 11th Dec 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 12th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Tue 13th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Wed 14th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Thu 15th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Fri 16th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Sat 17th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Sun 18th Dec 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 19th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Tue 20th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Wed 21st Dec 2022, 10:00am

Thu 22nd Dec 2022, 10:00am

Fri 23rd Dec 2022, 10:00am

Sat 24th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Tue 27th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Wed 28th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Thu 29th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Fri 30th Dec 2022, 10:00am

Sat 31st Dec 2022, 10:00am

Tue 3rd Jan 2023, 10:00am

Wed 4th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Thu 5th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Fri 6th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sat 7th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sun 8th Jan 2023, 1:00pm

Mon 9th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Tue 10th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Wed 11th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Thu 12th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Fri 13th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sat 14th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sun 15th Jan 2023, 1:00pm

Mon 16th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Tue 17th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Wed 18th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Thu 19th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Fri 20th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sat 21st Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sun 22nd Jan 2023, 1:00pm

Mon 23rd Jan 2023, 10:00am

Tue 24th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Wed 25th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Thu 26th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Fri 27th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sat 28th Jan 2023, 10:00am

Sun 29th Jan 2023, 1:00pm

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings