Guthrie Smith Arboretum Visit

3561 State Highway 2, Tutira, Wairoa

Come and enjoy the Guthrie Smith Arboretum at Tutira which will be open every Sunday from October until the end of May. Look out for the sign at the gate of the Outdoor Education Centre. It is stunning at all times of the year but particularly beautiful in spring and autumn.

The arboretum is spread over 90 hectares overlooking picturesque Lake Tutira. It is situated on what remains of the huge sheep station made famous by naturalist, author and farmer Herbert Guthrie Smith.

Bring the family, a picnic and walking shoes and take your time to stroll and enjoy over 20,000 specimen trees representing many countries of the world. The trees are planted in geographical regions including New Zealand, Australia, China, Japan, Himalayas, Europe, Mexico, North America, Mediterranean ( and others), all linked together by walking tracks. Development is ongoing with dams and tracks developed in support of the carefully planned and managed tree planting programme.

There are shelters and an electric barbeque available for your sausages, also a Flying Fox for the children. Entrance is free but donations are most welcome.

Take a look around...

When

Sun 31st Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 7th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 14th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 21st Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 28th Nov 2021, 10:00am

Sun 5th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sun 12th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sun 19th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sun 2nd Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 9th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 16th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 23rd Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 30th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 6th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 13th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 20th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 27th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 6th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 13th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 20th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 27th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 3rd Apr 2022, 10:00am

Sun 10th Apr 2022, 10:00am

Sun 17th Apr 2022, 10:00am

Sun 24th Apr 2022, 10:00am

Sun 1st May 2022, 10:00am

Sun 8th May 2022, 10:00am

Sun 15th May 2022, 10:00am

Sun 22nd May 2022, 10:00am

Sun 29th May 2022, 10:00am

Where

Guthrie Smith Arboretum & Education Centre, Wairoa, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

3561 State Highway 2, Tutira, Wairoa