Gabby O’Connor: All the Colours - All the Light

1 Tennyson St, Napier

In the Antarctic, moisture particles in the air can freeze and act as tiny prisms, reflecting a rainbow of light that creates twinkling clouds known as ‘diamond dust’. Gabby O’Connor uses theatre lighting gels to create a large geometric form which will transform the front foyer into an immersive kaleidoscope that will bathe your senses in colour.

All the Colours, All the Light was first shown in 2017 at the Islamic Arts Festival in Sharjah. It was subsequently shown at the Dowse Art Museum in Wellington, and the third iteration of the work is was shown at Ashburton Art Gallery and Museum. O’Connor’s practice works closely with the architecture, its limits and possibilities to transform site, materials and the spatial experience of the audience. She uses research of geographic location to inform the installation process, and so each time this work is installed, it changes shape to fit the gallery’s architecture.

Image caption: Gabby O’Connor, All the Colours, All the Light, 2017-2024, Ashburton Art Gallery, 2023. Image courtesy of the artist.

Take a look around...

When

Thu 25th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Fri 26th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sat 27th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Sun 28th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Mon 29th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Tue 30th Jul 2024, 9:30am

Wed 31st Jul 2024, 9:30am

Thu 1st Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 2nd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 3rd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 4th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Mon 5th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Tue 6th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Wed 7th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Thu 8th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 9th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 10th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 11th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Mon 12th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Tue 13th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Wed 14th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Thu 15th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 16th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 17th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 18th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Mon 19th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Tue 20th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Wed 21st Aug 2024, 9:30am

Thu 22nd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 23rd Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 24th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 25th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Mon 26th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Tue 27th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Wed 28th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Thu 29th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Fri 30th Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sat 31st Aug 2024, 9:30am

Sun 1st Sep 2024, 9:30am

Mon 2nd Sep 2024, 9:30am

Tue 3rd Sep 2024, 9:30am

Wed 4th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Thu 5th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Fri 6th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sat 7th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sun 8th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Mon 9th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Tue 10th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Wed 11th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Thu 12th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Fri 13th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sat 14th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sun 15th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Mon 16th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Tue 17th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Wed 18th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Thu 19th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Fri 20th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sat 21st Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Sep 2024, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Sep 2024, 9:30am

Tue 24th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Wed 25th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Thu 26th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Fri 27th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sat 28th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Sun 29th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Mon 30th Sep 2024, 9:30am

Tue 1st Oct 2024, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Oct 2024, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Oct 2024, 9:30am

Fri 4th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sat 5th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sun 6th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Mon 7th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Tue 8th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Wed 9th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Thu 10th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Fri 11th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sat 12th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sun 13th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Mon 14th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Tue 15th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Wed 16th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Thu 17th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Fri 18th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sat 19th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sun 20th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Mon 21st Oct 2024, 9:30am

Tue 22nd Oct 2024, 9:30am

Wed 23rd Oct 2024, 9:30am

Thu 24th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Fri 25th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sat 26th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Sun 27th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Mon 28th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Tue 29th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Wed 30th Oct 2024, 9:30am

Thu 31st Oct 2024, 9:30am

Fri 1st Nov 2024, 9:30am

Sat 2nd Nov 2024, 9:30am

Sun 3rd Nov 2024, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier