Bruce Connew; A Vocabulary

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Over several recent years, photographer and artist Bruce Connew has roamed the many memorials and gravestones of Aotearoa’s colonial wars to seek out the texts on these testaments to folly. A vocabulary of colonisation.

These remnants are scattered across mostly Te Ika-a-Māui North Island, residual memory, misremembered, not remembered. And there are those who know the Imperial story only too well.

A Vocabulary is an abstract, narrative selection of images from an artist book of the same title, published concurrently with the exhibition. A Vocabulary (Vapour Momenta Books, 2021) is an artist book designed by Catherine Griffiths and Bruce Connew, with a mōteatea and essay by Dr. Rangihīroa Panoho.

Developed and toured by Waitakere Contemporary Gallery, Te Uru.


Take a look around...

When

Thu 2nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 18th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 19th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 20th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 21st Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Feb 2023, 9:30am

Fri 24th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sat 25th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Sun 26th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Mon 27th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Tue 28th Feb 2023, 9:30am

Wed 1st Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 4th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 5th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 6th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 7th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 8th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 9th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 10th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 11th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 12th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Mon 13th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Tue 14th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Wed 15th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Thu 16th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Fri 17th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sat 18th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Sun 19th Mar 2023, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier