1931 Hawke’s Bay Earthquake Exhibition

1 Tennyson St, Napier

“The outline of the hill turned into a giant serpent as it heaved up and down. The shock wave swept across it, creating a monster crossing the skyline.” - NG Bailey

At 10:47am on 3 February 1931, a devastating earthquake struck Hawke’s Bay. In that moment it seemed the end of the world had come.

People were thrown off their feet; buildings shuddered and collapsed as the ground pitched violently. In central Napier, fires broke out within minutes and rushed through the city. Amidst the burning, falling buildings, the bright blue sky of a summer’s day was obscured by smoke and dust.

People could only watch as their home was destroyed around them. In desperation the injured screamed for help, others ran for the safety of the beach, or home to find their families.

In Hawke’s Bay, time from then on would always be divided into before and after the earthquake. The high number of casualties and the challenge of rehabilitation and reconstruction in the middle of the Depression tested the nation, the brunt of the burden borne by every person in Hawke’s Bay who strove to reclaim their home amid the trauma of extreme loss.

Objects and archives in the MTG collections are rich with memory of the horror of that day, and of its aftermath. Visiting this exhibition is a must for those who seek to understand a place shaped by destruction on a scale unparalleled in New Zealand, of a story that has shaped a visible scar on Hawke’s Bay, and of the invisible scars - held in the memories of its places and people, still vivid over 80 years on.

The 'Survivors' Stories' film containing the personal accounts from Hana Cotter, Audrey McKelvie, Jim Clayton, and Lauris Edmond plays continuously throughout the day (note: this film has subtitles).

Supported by Hawke’s Bay Regional Council.

When

Thu 20th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Fri 21st Feb 2020, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Feb 2020, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Feb 2020, 9:30am

Mon 24th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Tue 25th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Wed 26th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Thu 27th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Fri 28th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Sat 29th Feb 2020, 9:30am

Sun 1st Mar 2020, 9:30am

Mon 2nd Mar 2020, 9:30am

Tue 3rd Mar 2020, 9:30am

Wed 4th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Thu 5th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Fri 6th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sat 7th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sun 8th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Mon 9th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Tue 10th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Wed 11th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Thu 12th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Fri 13th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sat 14th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sun 15th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Mon 16th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Tue 17th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Wed 18th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Thu 19th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Fri 20th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sat 21st Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Mar 2020, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Mar 2020, 9:30am

Tue 24th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Wed 25th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Thu 26th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Fri 27th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sat 28th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Sun 29th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Mon 30th Mar 2020, 9:30am

Tue 31st Mar 2020, 9:30am

Wed 1st Apr 2020, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier