Well Travelled; A Collection of Fine Art Prints

16 Byron Street, Napier

This exhibition includes a large body of artwork collected by Angela Lalonde that spans several years and crosses the globe.

While attending Alberta University of Art & Design in Canada (AUAD) (formerly Alberta College of Art & Design) Angela had the opportunity to participate in a print portfolio exchange twice, which meant that she was the recipient of over 50 works of art from her peers, professors, professional artists and guest artists.

These works were kept and transported from Canada to South Korea, to New Zealand. They rarely saw the light of day and have been preserved in portfolio boxes and packed away for 15 years.

Over the years Angela realised that her growing collection would likely not be seen by anyone other than close friends and family. With most of the pieces collected Angela has a story to tell and each print is a reminder of her time at the University and travels overseas.

Stories like the prints by Gary Olsen, former head of the Print Department at AUAD, who often produced large scale portraits of people with elastic bands all over their faces, or highly exaggerated caricatures of alumni and friends. His print on show is a caricature of a colleague. Another is a print on a thin piece of steel produced by a classmate who had a strong interest in war, machines and people. He is now a landscape painter in British Columbia, Canada with the Group of Seven as his inspiration.

Included in Anglea’s collection is a hand watercoloured print that she and two classmates printed for prolific Canadian landscape painter Ted Godwin. They were gifted a unique hand-coloured artist proof for printing his drawings as part of their curriculum.

Her collection also includes a mezzotint by a popular Korean artist, two small prints by the last stone carver in Korea and some whimsical prints from local amateur artists. Also included are some prints that she and her husband pulled from a stone carved in Korea centuries ago and held in a museum found down a nondescript back alley in central Seoul.

Angela and her husband are avid art collectors, and want to offer the city of Napier and Hawke’s Bay the opportunity to see this monumental collection.

Angela is a trained Printmaker and her work usually incorporates some form of printing. Her work is built through layers usually starting with a print such as a Gelatin Print or lino cut, combining different mediums such as acrylics, metal leaf gilding, watercolours, stencils and collage.

Angela has been exploring the healing process through Art Therapy, and themes around healing the broken child within is a subject she explores regularly. She has discovered a connection to her suppressed imagination, and her work explores an intuitive process to access that creativity.

Angela is passionate about nature, technology, popular culture, layers, textures and colour theory. She consistently searches for new ways to explore these themes in her work, inspired by the works of Joe Sorren, Van Gogh, Roy Lichtenstein and Andy Warhol as well as Albrecht Dürer. She is currently working with Gelatin printing using mixed media to produce abstract images.

Join Angela to try out the Gelatin Printmaking process on Saturday 27 April, 10.30am -12.30pm, cost $40. To book contact bookings@thecan.co.nz.

Take a look around...

When

Wed 1st May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 2nd May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 3rd May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 4th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 5th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 6th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 7th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 8th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 9th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 10th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 11th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 12th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 13th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 14th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 15th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 16th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 17th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 18th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 19th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 20th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 21st May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 22nd May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 23rd May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 24th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 25th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 26th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 27th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 28th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 29th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 30th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 31st May 2019, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier