Truffle Hunt

Omarunui Road, Napier

You can take part in an exciting and unusual event in Hawkes Bay. An outing in the country searching for the elusive truffle. These exclusive hunts are a must do for foodies. Numbers are strictly limited so book now to truly experience one of the world’s most exclusive food journeys.

The season in New Zealand is short (June to September), and truffle are not that easy to find – but we have an experienced truffle hunter, assisted by the great truffle hunter Bear (our dog).

We have hosted successful truffle hunts as part of FAWC festival in Hawkes Bay, and now you have the opportunity to take part in your own truffle hunt. We limit the number of people for each hunt to make sure that you have the personal experience. Walk with the dog, get down and smell the earth to identify where that truffle is, and then dig through the soil to find the prize, Black Gold – tuber melanosporum – Perigord Black Truffle.

You will also learn about the Truffle industry in New Zealand and overseas, what is a truffle, how do they grow, what to look for in a truffle, and what they taste like (if the hunt is successful)
Truffle may be available to purchase, and we also supply ideas of how to care for and to cook with it. Please include your email address when booking to allow for detailed instructions of where to find us.
If you are from out of town and require accommodation, have a look at The Manse for their truffle tour packages.

A limited amount of mobility is required to take part, and we recommend gumboots and warm clothing – it is winter and it can be cold.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 6th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sun 7th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sat 13th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sun 14th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sat 20th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sun 21st Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sat 27th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sun 28th Jul 2019, 9:00am

Sat 3rd Aug 2019, 9:00am

Sun 4th Aug 2019, 9:00am

Sat 10th Aug 2019, 9:00am

Sun 11th Aug 2019, 9:00am

Sat 17th Aug 2019, 9:00am

Sun 18th Aug 2019, 9:00am

Where

Sacremonte Truffle, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

Omarunui Road, Napier

Buy Tickets