The Shape of Water - A Collection of works by Glen Colechin

16 Byron Street, Napier

In line with current Level 2 restrictions, please wear a mask and use your COVID Tracer app when entering Creative Arts Napier. 2-metre distancing is observed in all of our galleries.

The Shape of Water is an exploration using natural acids on copper to create works that convey water in various shapes and forms.

The idea came when working on sculptural pieces and finding naturally formed colours/patinas growing in nooks and surfaces of the Sculptures, which looked like networks of rivers or tiny landscapes. With this body of work, I have experimented with various natural acids to recreate the colours and textures.

As a medium for this exhibition, I chose copper as the canvas to work on as it reacts with natural acids such as vinegar better than most metals and is more malleable.

Being an innovative craftsman fits comfortably with Glen Colechin’s engineering background. He has picked up a large knowledge base of materials in his previous role which helps him marrying up the right material for the right art piece he is creating.

He has a sound foundation with the skills to drive his creative core. “Art is everywhere,” Glen explains. “You need that creative eye to see it. That’s what makes me a good engineer of art.”

Take a look around...

When

Fri 24th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sat 25th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sun 26th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Mon 27th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Tue 28th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Wed 29th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 30th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 1st Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sat 2nd Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 3rd Oct 2021, 10:00am

Mon 4th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Tue 5th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Wed 6th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Thu 7th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier