The Architectural Legacy of J.A Louis Hay

1 Tennyson St, Napier

“Every so often, in a distant place, there comes into existence someone with individuality and refined genius. They live their life, not in a great city, at the centre of power. Instead in a quiet town… they choose to do their work: to solve problems with imagination, to create buildings of pleasing ornament and symmetry: to add to the sum total of beauty in the world.” - Peter Shaw, Louis Hay: Architect, 1999

James Augustus Louis Hay chose to set up his architectural practice in a place of beauty: the quiet, seaside town of Napier in Hawke’s Bay. Throughout the area, he stamped his mark with a range of buildings that aligned with international architectural innovations, particularly absorbing the modernist style of the American architect, Frank Lloyd Wright.

After the devastating Hawke’s Bay 1931 earthquake, Louis Hay became a member of the newly formed Associated Architects and Napier Reconstruction Committees. The challenge of both was to rebuild the destroyed town in a sympathetic, modern style founded on the newly formed New Zealand building code. The quality of Louis Hay’s many surviving buildings give no doubt that he is one of the city’s most important architects.

When

Wed 20th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Thu 21st Mar 2019, 9:30am

Fri 22nd Mar 2019, 9:30am

Sat 23rd Mar 2019, 9:30am

Sun 24th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Mon 25th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Tue 26th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Wed 27th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Thu 28th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Fri 29th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Sat 30th Mar 2019, 9:30am

Sun 31st Mar 2019, 9:30am

Mon 1st Apr 2019, 9:30am

Tue 2nd Apr 2019, 9:30am

Wed 3rd Apr 2019, 9:30am

Thu 4th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Fri 5th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sat 6th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sun 7th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Mon 8th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Tue 9th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Wed 10th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Thu 11th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Fri 12th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sat 13th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sun 14th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Mon 15th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Tue 16th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Wed 17th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Thu 18th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Fri 19th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sat 20th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sun 21st Apr 2019, 9:30am

Mon 22nd Apr 2019, 9:30am

Tue 23rd Apr 2019, 9:30am

Wed 24th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Thu 25th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Fri 26th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sat 27th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Sun 28th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Mon 29th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Tue 30th Apr 2019, 9:30am

Wed 1st May 2019, 9:30am

Thu 2nd May 2019, 9:30am

Fri 3rd May 2019, 9:30am

Sat 4th May 2019, 9:30am

Sun 5th May 2019, 9:30am

Mon 6th May 2019, 9:30am

Tue 7th May 2019, 9:30am

Wed 8th May 2019, 9:30am

Thu 9th May 2019, 9:30am

Fri 10th May 2019, 9:30am

Sat 11th May 2019, 9:30am

Sun 12th May 2019, 9:30am

Mon 13th May 2019, 9:30am

Tue 14th May 2019, 9:30am

Wed 15th May 2019, 9:30am

Thu 16th May 2019, 9:30am

Fri 17th May 2019, 9:30am

Sat 18th May 2019, 9:30am

Sun 19th May 2019, 9:30am

Mon 20th May 2019, 9:30am

Tue 21st May 2019, 9:30am

Wed 22nd May 2019, 9:30am

Thu 23rd May 2019, 9:30am

Fri 24th May 2019, 9:30am

Sat 25th May 2019, 9:30am

Sun 26th May 2019, 9:30am

Mon 27th May 2019, 9:30am

Tue 28th May 2019, 9:30am

Wed 29th May 2019, 9:30am

Thu 30th May 2019, 9:30am

Fri 31st May 2019, 9:30am

Sat 1st Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Jun 2019, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Jun 2019, 9:30am

Tue 4th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Wed 5th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Thu 6th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Fri 7th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sat 8th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sun 9th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Mon 10th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Tue 11th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Wed 12th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Thu 13th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Fri 14th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sat 15th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sun 16th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Mon 17th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Tue 18th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Wed 19th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Thu 20th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Fri 21st Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Jun 2019, 9:30am

Mon 24th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Tue 25th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Wed 26th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Thu 27th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Fri 28th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sat 29th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Sun 30th Jun 2019, 9:30am

Mon 1st Jul 2019, 9:30am

Tue 2nd Jul 2019, 9:30am

Wed 3rd Jul 2019, 9:30am

Thu 4th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Fri 5th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sat 6th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sun 7th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Mon 8th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Tue 9th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Wed 10th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Thu 11th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Fri 12th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sat 13th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sun 14th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Mon 15th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Tue 16th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Wed 17th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Thu 18th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Fri 19th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sat 20th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sun 21st Jul 2019, 9:30am

Mon 22nd Jul 2019, 9:30am

Tue 23rd Jul 2019, 9:30am

Wed 24th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Thu 25th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Fri 26th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sat 27th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Sun 28th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Mon 29th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Tue 30th Jul 2019, 9:30am

Wed 31st Jul 2019, 9:30am

Thu 1st Aug 2019, 9:30am

Fri 2nd Aug 2019, 9:30am

Sat 3rd Aug 2019, 9:30am

Sun 4th Aug 2019, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier