Posing, Not Posing

Stout St, Gisborne

Long before smartphones, selfie sticks and one-swipe filters, having your ‘perfect’ picture taken took practice, preparation and plenty of posing.

Early cameras and photographic materials required the sitter to be still for many seconds. While this is often given as the reason for a lack of smiles, a more likely reason is that early portrait photography followed the format of traditional portrait painting. In the nineteenth century, props, backdrops, costumes, animals and touch-ups were all used to help create the perfect portrait.

Photographs are for sharing and people have always wanted to look their best.

By taking a look back through the museum’s collection in Posing, Not Posing, we not only seek to understand the history of portrait photography but understand how we present and see ourselves.

Take a look around...

When

Fri 21st Dec 2018, 10:00am

Fri 28th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Mon 28th Jan 2019, 10:00am

Thu 28th Feb 2019, 10:00am

Thu 28th Mar 2019, 10:00am

Sun 28th Apr 2019, 10:00am

Tue 28th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 28th Jun 2019, 10:00am

Sun 28th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Wed 28th Aug 2019, 10:00am

Sat 28th Sep 2019, 10:00am

Mon 28th Oct 2019, 10:00am

Thu 28th Nov 2019, 10:00am

Sat 28th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Tue 28th Jan 2020, 10:00am

Fri 28th Feb 2020, 10:00am

Sat 28th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Where

Tairawhiti Museum, Gisborne, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

Stout St, Gisborne

Ticket Information

General Admission  $5.00

Local Resident Admission  $2.00

Free Admission on Mondays  $0.00

Buy Tickets

Restrictions:  All Ages