Moana Currents

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Moana Currents: Dressing Aotearoa Now

Looking through the lens of fashion, the exhibition ‘Moana Currents’ considers the history of migration and cultural exchange, adaption, and adoption in the Pacific, Te Moana nui a Kiwa.

The exhibitions document how these histories are visible in what we wear and how we adorn ourselves, showing how various threads drawn from across the Moana are being woven together to produce a new cloth from which we in Aotearoa are dressing ourselves today. Moana Currents seeks to build understanding of how the many histories of Oceania are interwoven and how our place in this Moana has led to the development of a distinctive Aotearoa identity and on our sense of ourselves.

A dress by Trelise Cooper that harks back to the missionaries, a glamorous gown by Sheena Taivairangi and Tepora Tamariki that has its origins in the sampler, a Neil Adcock hei tiki that can dance, and Steve Hall's urban lavalava, together with many other objects such as hats, bags, jewellery and tattoo are unpicked to explore the origins, alterations and transformations that are at the heart of the contemporary manifestations seen in the exhibition.

When

Sun 28th Nov 2021, 9:30am

Mon 29th Nov 2021, 9:30am

Tue 30th Nov 2021, 9:30am

Wed 1st Dec 2021, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Dec 2021, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sat 4th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sun 5th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Mon 6th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Tue 7th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Wed 8th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Thu 9th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Fri 10th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sat 11th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sun 12th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Mon 13th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Tue 14th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Wed 15th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Thu 16th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Fri 17th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sat 18th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sun 19th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Mon 20th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Tue 21st Dec 2021, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Dec 2021, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Dec 2021, 9:30am

Fri 24th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sat 25th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sun 26th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Mon 27th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Tue 28th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Wed 29th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Thu 30th Dec 2021, 9:30am

Fri 31st Dec 2021, 9:30am

Sat 1st Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Jan 2022, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Jan 2022, 9:30am

Tue 4th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Wed 5th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Thu 6th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Fri 7th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sat 8th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sun 9th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Mon 10th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Tue 11th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Wed 12th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Thu 13th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Fri 14th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sat 15th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sun 16th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Mon 17th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Tue 18th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Wed 19th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Thu 20th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Fri 21st Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Jan 2022, 9:30am

Mon 24th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Tue 25th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Wed 26th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Thu 27th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Fri 28th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sat 29th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Sun 30th Jan 2022, 9:30am

Mon 31st Jan 2022, 9:30am

Tue 1st Feb 2022, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Feb 2022, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Feb 2022, 9:30am

Fri 4th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sat 5th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sun 6th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Mon 7th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Tue 8th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Wed 9th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Thu 10th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Fri 11th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sat 12th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sun 13th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Mon 14th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Tue 15th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Wed 16th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Thu 17th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Fri 18th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sat 19th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sun 20th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Mon 21st Feb 2022, 9:30am

Tue 22nd Feb 2022, 9:30am

Wed 23rd Feb 2022, 9:30am

Thu 24th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Fri 25th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sat 26th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Sun 27th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Mon 28th Feb 2022, 9:30am

Tue 1st Mar 2022, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Mar 2022, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Mar 2022, 9:30am

Fri 4th Mar 2022, 9:30am

Sat 5th Mar 2022, 9:30am

Sun 6th Mar 2022, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier