Locale

16 Byron Street, Napier

Painting by Carli Lewis

Carli Lewis paints what she sees, and is in love with the natural and urban environment around her. She is inspired by other artists, her children, nature and areas where people socialise and have fun. Painting is something Carli enjoys, and she loves when her paintings create an emotion for someone.

Carli started painting in high school. Her last exhibition was in Nelson – 2007, where she was a paediatric nurse at the time and completed a certificate in creativity through the Learning Connexion Wellington.

Carli paints abstracts, landscapes of nature, beaches and buildings (especially cafes). Painting when she can, where she can. Lately Carli has enjoyed painting at sunrise, when she can hear the birds.

Planning for the future, Carli Lewis might look to creating images for a children’s book. With a love for collecting photos, and finding things to paint, Carli is never without inspiration. Growing up in Auckland, Carli has also lived in Tauranga, Nelson, Rotorua, Brisbane, London and Edinburgh. Living in different places has made Carli appreciate the beauty in each area, and the environments that are always changing.

‘Hawke’s Bay is now my Locale. My family and I moved here 18 months ago. Hayden my husband, Zara who is four and Oscar who turns two soon. I love the sky, buildings and sea here. It’s a lovely place to paint, explore and have time with my family.’

Join Carli to celebrate the opening of her exhibition, Friday 4 June 5pm – 7pm. All welcome! Light refreshments will be served.

Take a look around...

When

Tue 15th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 16th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 17th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Fri 18th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sat 19th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sun 20th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Mon 21st Jun 2021, 10:00am

Tue 22nd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 23rd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 24th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier