'W6' Exhibition

16 Byron Street, Napier

This exhibition features a group of well-known, established artists from Heretaunga/Hawkes Bay; Troy Gardiner, Clayton Gibson, Andy Heyward, Ross Mackay, Jean McGavock and Ricks Terstappen.

What they have in common, is that they all belong to the Heretaunga Ararau o Ngāti Kahungunu Waka Ama Roopu. In other words, they all paddle waka ama together up and down the Ngaruroro River.

This Exhibition is called ‘W6’ because usually there are six people in a waka and the competitive name for a six-person waka is a ‘W6’.

The creation of art is their primary focus in life, followed closely by their love for waka ama.

Join the Artists to celebrate the opening of their exhibition on Friday 7 August, 5-7pm. All welcome! Light refreshments will be served.

ABOUT THE ARTISTS:

Troy Gardiner: Troy Gardiner is a teacher of Te Reo Māori, a partner, a father of 4, a weaver of harakeke (flax), has a passion for ngā toi Māori (Māori artforms), enjoys music and dance, a paddler of waka ama, has a love of the ocean and being with whānau and friends…amongst other things.

Clayton Gibson: Works predominantly as a sculptor, using recycled totara posts to form the basis of most of his work. For this exhibition most of his pieces are oil on paper and reflect his interest in encounters between people and between them and the natural world. Clayton is also the Curator at Hastings City Art Gallery.

Andy Heyward: An artist who is often found adding his spin to old op-shop prints. He is one of three curators at the Department of Curiosities and Fine Things in Napier, a retail store that highlights New Zealand hand-made items.

Ross Mackay: A fabrication engineer, Ross creates large-scale public sculptures as well as furniture and art.

Jean McGavok: Jean has a passion for creating mosaics – both small panels and large community projects. She is a practising artist and has worked in the bay for 25 years as an art therapist- providing art tuition for individuals and groups of all ages.

Ricks Terstappen: A large-scale sculptural artist. Ricks makes his sculptural creations using metals, wood and found materials. He has often undertaken public commissions and he exhibits frequently in Hawke’s Bay and throughout the country.

Take a look around...

When

Fri 7th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Sat 8th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Sun 9th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Mon 10th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Tue 11th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Wed 12th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Thu 13th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Fri 14th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Sat 15th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Sun 16th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Mon 17th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Tue 18th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Wed 19th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Thu 20th Aug 2020, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier