The Path

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

The Path

18 December 2021 – 13 March 2022 | Main Gallery

This exhibition features visual artists, a writer and a documentary producer for whom surfing has been part of their life journey.

Although connected by surfing, they haven’t been asked to create or exhibit ‘Surf Art’, but rather to interrogate the crossover in their passions, and contemplate through their practice and discussion the connection between these two creative and formative activities.

Painting, sculpture, print, video art and photography all feature in the show, created by some of New Zealand’s leading and up-and-coming visual artists.

The Path is a celebration of the work of surfing artists and surfing in general, and during its run a number of events will highlight this passion for the ocean, including a documentary screening, a book launch and a panel discussion.

The high calibre of artists involved in this exhibition is sure to appeal to our art community, as well as capture the attention of new audiences with its relevance to our coastal environment.

Artists featured in this exhibition are Glen Armstrong, Kent Baddeley, Jordan Barnes, Jeremy Bennett, Mauricio Benega, Brian Campbell, Troy Conole, Lindsay Crooks, Peter Day, Scott Gardiner, Steve Gibbs, Aaron Greaves, Margaret Hansen, Bill Hayes, Clive Kelly, Luke Kelly, Aaron Kereopa, Luke Kerr, Claudia Kogachi, Peter Lambert, Daryn Mcbride, John McLean, Damon Meade, Peter Miller, Alex Monteith, James Newby, Christian Nicolson, Tony Ogle, Isaac Petersen, Craig Potton, Richard Rogers, Joanna Tokona, Aaron Topp and John Walsh.

IMAGE CREDIT: Tony Ogle, Waxing Up, 2020

Take a look around...

When

Sat 18th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sun 19th Dec 2021, 1:00am

Mon 20th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Tue 21st Dec 2021, 10:00am

Wed 22nd Dec 2021, 10:00am

Thu 23rd Dec 2021, 10:00am

Fri 24th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Mon 27th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Tue 28th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Wed 29th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Thu 30th Dec 2021, 10:00am

Fri 31st Dec 2021, 10:00am

Sat 1st Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 2nd Jan 2022, 1:00am

Mon 3rd Jan 2022, 10:00am

Tue 4th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Wed 5th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Thu 6th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Fri 7th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sat 8th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 9th Jan 2022, 1:00am

Mon 10th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Tue 11th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Wed 12th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Thu 13th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Fri 14th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sat 15th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 16th Jan 2022, 1:00am

Mon 17th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Tue 18th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Wed 19th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Thu 20th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Fri 21st Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sat 22nd Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 23rd Jan 2022, 1:00am

Mon 24th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Tue 25th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Wed 26th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Thu 27th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Fri 28th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sat 29th Jan 2022, 10:00am

Sun 30th Jan 2022, 1:00am

Mon 31st Jan 2022, 10:00am

Tue 1st Feb 2022, 10:00am

Wed 2nd Feb 2022, 10:00am

Thu 3rd Feb 2022, 10:00am

Fri 4th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sat 5th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 6th Feb 2022, 1:00am

Mon 7th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Tue 8th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Wed 9th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Thu 10th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Fri 11th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sat 12th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 13th Feb 2022, 1:00am

Mon 14th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Tue 15th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Wed 16th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Thu 17th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Fri 18th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sat 19th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 20th Feb 2022, 1:00am

Mon 21st Feb 2022, 10:00am

Tue 22nd Feb 2022, 10:00am

Wed 23rd Feb 2022, 10:00am

Thu 24th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Fri 25th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sat 26th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Sun 27th Feb 2022, 1:00am

Mon 28th Feb 2022, 10:00am

Tue 1st Mar 2022, 10:00am

Wed 2nd Mar 2022, 10:00am

Thu 3rd Mar 2022, 10:00am

Fri 4th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sat 5th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 6th Mar 2022, 1:00am

Mon 7th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Tue 8th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Wed 9th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Thu 10th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Fri 11th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sat 12th Mar 2022, 10:00am

Sun 13th Mar 2022, 1:00am

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings