Te Pō Uriuri: Poutu Puketapu

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

Te Pō Uriuri is an immersive experience retelling the pūrakau/legend of Uru, the eldest child of Ranginui and Papatūānuku. This installation embodies the safe haven, Te Kahutuanui-a-Rangi, the cloak of Uri’s father, where he fled, seeking refuge as he withdrew from his whānau. Uru sits here as a contemporary koruru in an era of deep darkness – Te Pō Uriuri.

Deep down, Poutu Puketapu (Ngāti Porou) is a traditionalist, although you might not think so looking at this exhibition.

In a modern society where so many feel disconnected from their ancestral roots, Poutu believes that works based on purākau/legend may act as an umbilical cord to whakapapa.

This work marks the beginning of Poutu’s studies for his Master’s degree and he hopes that all who enter will offer their own interpretation. He is excited to share with you this multimedia work and let the space that he has created draw you in.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 2nd Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sun 3rd Jul 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 4th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Tue 5th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Wed 6th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Thu 7th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Fri 8th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sat 9th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sun 10th Jul 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 11th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Tue 12th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Wed 13th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Thu 14th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Fri 15th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sat 16th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sun 17th Jul 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 18th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Tue 19th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Wed 20th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Thu 21st Jul 2022, 10:00am

Fri 22nd Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sat 23rd Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sun 24th Jul 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 25th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Tue 26th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Wed 27th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Thu 28th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Fri 29th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sat 30th Jul 2022, 10:00am

Sun 31st Jul 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 1st Aug 2022, 10:00am

Tue 2nd Aug 2022, 10:00am

Wed 3rd Aug 2022, 10:00am

Thu 4th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Fri 5th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sat 6th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sun 7th Aug 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 8th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Tue 9th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Wed 10th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Thu 11th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Fri 12th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sat 13th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sun 14th Aug 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 15th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Tue 16th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Wed 17th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Thu 18th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Fri 19th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sat 20th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sun 21st Aug 2022, 1:00pm

Mon 22nd Aug 2022, 10:00am

Tue 23rd Aug 2022, 10:00am

Wed 24th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Thu 25th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Fri 26th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sat 27th Aug 2022, 10:00am

Sun 28th Aug 2022, 1:00pm

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings