Tēnei Tonu Exhibition

1 Tennyson St, Napier

This stunning exhibition features a broad range of historic and contemporary taonga from the collection of the Hawke's Bay Museums Trust, Ruawharo Ta-u-rangi.

Translated as 'always here', Tēnei Tonu shares diverse stories of local Iwi Ngati Kahungunu and their enduring connection to the land.

Ten taonga riri (weapons) have recently come out of storage and are on now on display - some have not been exhibited for over 100 years'. They are representative of the nearly 200 taiaha and tewhatewha held in the collection, ranging from pre-contact through to the 1940s they show a variety of styles and materials.

One of the items on display is a beautiful whale-bone taiaha, and if you look closely you will see one eye has been rimmed with red wax and the other with paua - making for an unusual finished look.

Another has a noticeable bulge in the binding. We know from other museums (which have X-rayed similar taonga) that items such as teeth or pounamu can be held within this wrapping - one day the mystery of this taiaha may be revealed!

When

Tue 19th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 20th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 21st Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 22nd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 23rd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 24th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Mon 25th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Tue 26th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 27th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 28th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 29th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 30th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 1st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 2nd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 3rd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 4th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 5th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 6th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 7th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 8th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 9th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 10th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 11th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 12th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 13th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 14th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 15th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 16th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 17th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 18th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 19th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 20th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 21st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 24th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 26th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 27th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 28th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 29th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 30th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 31st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 1st Jan 2020, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier