Tēnei Tonu Exhibition

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Update: The Government's announcement last 22 March means we have had to close our doors. We're sorry we won't be able to welcome you into the museum in the coming weeks, but your health and wellbeing is paramount. Meanwhile you can still enjoy some of the region's taonga online. Let's stay home, stay safe and do everything possible to beat this terrible disease.

Kia kaha.

--
This stunning exhibition features a broad range of historic and contemporary taonga from the collection of the Hawke's Bay Museums Trust, Ruawharo Ta-u-rangi.

Translated as 'always here', Tēnei Tonu shares diverse stories of local Iwi Ngati Kahungunu and their enduring connection to the land.

Ten taonga riri (weapons) have recently come out of storage and are on now on display - some have not been exhibited for over 100 years'. They are representative of the nearly 200 taiaha and tewhatewha held in the collection, ranging from pre-contact through to the 1940s they show a variety of styles and materials.

One of the items on display is a beautiful whale-bone taiaha, and if you look closely you will see one eye has been rimmed with red wax and the other with paua - making for an unusual finished look.

Another has a noticeable bulge in the binding. We know from other museums (which have X-rayed similar taonga) that items such as teeth or pounamu can be held within this wrapping - one day the mystery of this taiaha may be revealed!

When

Thu 16th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Fri 17th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Sat 18th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Sun 19th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Mon 20th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Tue 21st Jul 2020, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Jul 2020, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Jul 2020, 9:30am

Fri 24th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Sat 25th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Sun 26th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Mon 27th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Tue 28th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Wed 29th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Thu 30th Jul 2020, 9:30am

Fri 31st Jul 2020, 9:30am

Sat 1st Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Aug 2020, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Aug 2020, 9:30am

Tue 4th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Wed 5th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Thu 6th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Fri 7th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sat 8th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sun 9th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Mon 10th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Tue 11th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Wed 12th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Thu 13th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Fri 14th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sat 15th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sun 16th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Mon 17th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Tue 18th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Wed 19th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Thu 20th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Fri 21st Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Aug 2020, 9:30am

Mon 24th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Tue 25th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Wed 26th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Thu 27th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Fri 28th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sat 29th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Sun 30th Aug 2020, 9:30am

Mon 31st Aug 2020, 9:30am

Tue 1st Sep 2020, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Sep 2020, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Sep 2020, 9:30am

Fri 4th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sat 5th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sun 6th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Mon 7th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Tue 8th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Wed 9th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Thu 10th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Fri 11th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sat 12th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sun 13th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Mon 14th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Tue 15th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Wed 16th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Thu 17th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Fri 18th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sat 19th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sun 20th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Mon 21st Sep 2020, 9:30am

Tue 22nd Sep 2020, 9:30am

Wed 23rd Sep 2020, 9:30am

Thu 24th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Fri 25th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sat 26th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Sun 27th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Mon 28th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Tue 29th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Wed 30th Sep 2020, 9:30am

Thu 1st Oct 2020, 9:30am

Fri 2nd Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sat 3rd Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sun 4th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Mon 5th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Tue 6th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Wed 7th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Thu 8th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Fri 9th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sat 10th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sun 11th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Mon 12th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Tue 13th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Wed 14th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Thu 15th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Fri 16th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sat 17th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sun 18th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Mon 19th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Tue 20th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Wed 21st Oct 2020, 9:30am

Thu 22nd Oct 2020, 9:30am

Fri 23rd Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sat 24th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sun 25th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Mon 26th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Tue 27th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Wed 28th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Thu 29th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Fri 30th Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sat 31st Oct 2020, 9:30am

Sun 1st Nov 2020, 9:30am

Mon 2nd Nov 2020, 9:30am

Tue 3rd Nov 2020, 9:30am

Wed 4th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Thu 5th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Fri 6th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sat 7th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sun 8th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Mon 9th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Tue 10th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Wed 11th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Thu 12th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Fri 13th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sat 14th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sun 15th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Mon 16th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Tue 17th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Wed 18th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Thu 19th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Fri 20th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sat 21st Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Nov 2020, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Nov 2020, 9:30am

Tue 24th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Wed 25th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Thu 26th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Fri 27th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sat 28th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Sun 29th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Mon 30th Nov 2020, 9:30am

Tue 1st Dec 2020, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Dec 2020, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Dec 2020, 9:30am

Fri 4th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sat 5th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sun 6th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Mon 7th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Tue 8th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Wed 9th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Thu 10th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Fri 11th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sat 12th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sun 13th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Mon 14th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Tue 15th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Wed 16th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Thu 17th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Fri 18th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sat 19th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sun 20th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Mon 21st Dec 2020, 9:30am

Tue 22nd Dec 2020, 9:30am

Wed 23rd Dec 2020, 9:30am

Thu 24th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sat 26th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Sun 27th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Mon 28th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Tue 29th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Wed 30th Dec 2020, 9:30am

Thu 31st Dec 2020, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier