Sybille Schlumbom

16 Byron Street, Napier

Sybille Schlumbom is a first generation immigrant from Northern Germany;

‘My place of belonging is the ocean. My clan are the bird people’.

Sybille studied graphic design at the Lazie Academy in Esslingen, Germany, and holds a BA in Illustration Design from the BildKunst Akademie in Hamburg, Germany. She studied Japanese woodcut with Roslyn Kean in Melbourne/ Australia, Eva Pietzcker in Berlin/ Germany and at Mi-Lab in Japan, where her teachers were Tuula Moilanen (Doctor of Arts) Finland, Chihiro Taki (Master of Arts), Japan, Michiko Hamada (Master of Fine Arts), Japan, and Ayao Shiokawa (Master of Fine Arts), Japan. Sybille thanks all of them for their willingness to share their skill, knowledge and experience.

Her practice is diverse. A painter and graphic artist by heart and training, she has worked in installation, ceramics, print, collage, assemblage. Often her aspiration to understand a new medium is fueled by the desire to make informed material decisions for specific projects. She likes the misplaced, the lost, the in-between. Her need is for definition, contour, a moment of sharpness.

A print needs loss, ink and control to come into being. Sybille’s growing understanding and practice of mokuhanga helps her to achieve a lost and misplaced atmosphere in her works. As an illustrator, representative motifs give Sybille security; a trail of breadcrumbs to venture into lack context like a foreign language or culture.

Sybille is always keen to collaborate with other artists and curators and to share her passion for mokuhanga in talks and demonstrations.

Please join Sybille to celebrate the opening of her exhibition on Friday 3 May, 5-7pm. All welcome!

On Saturday 4 May, Sybille will be presenting an Artist's Talk and Interactive Demonstration Workshop, where participants can hear all about Sybille's experiences as an Artist in Residence in Japan, and the intricate process of making Mokuhanga prints. Bookings are essential for this event.

More information will be available closer to the event at www.thecan.co.nz, keep an eye on the CAN Facebook page or contact bookings@thecan.co.nz.

Email - sybille.schlumbom@gmail.com

Take a look around...

When

Wed 1st May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 2nd May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 3rd May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 4th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 5th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 6th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 7th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 8th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 9th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 10th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 11th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 12th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 13th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 14th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 15th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 16th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 17th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 18th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 19th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 20th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 21st May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 22nd May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 23rd May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 24th May 2019, 10:00am

Sat 25th May 2019, 10:00am

Sun 26th May 2019, 10:00am

Mon 27th May 2019, 10:00am

Tue 28th May 2019, 10:00am

Wed 29th May 2019, 10:00am

Thu 30th May 2019, 10:00am

Fri 31st May 2019, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier