Steadfast Steamers: Models of Hawke's Bay Shipping

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Taking pride of place in this new exhibition titled Steadfast Steamers: Models of Hawke’s Bay Shipping are four beautiful scale models of Hawke’s Bay steamers: the Hawke’s Bay and Marere steamers were commissioned specifically for the frozen meat market; the Nora Niven as a fishing trawler and the Kahu (Tuna) as a coastal steamer.

The shipbuilder created each scale model to show a prospective buyer how the full-sized steamer would appear, illustrating advanced building techniques and innovative features. After the ship was launched and delivered, the model was displayed prominently in the company boardroom, admired for their sleek lines and superior construction.

The small steamer Tuna, was built and launched in 1885 by shipbuilders in Newcastle, England. On its delivery passage to the firm of Richardsons and Company of Napier, the Tuna was wrecked in the Red Sea.

After a great deal of litigation and ill feeling the Richardson Company’s insurer paid up, and an identical sister ship, the Kahu, was built and arrived in Napier at the end of 1886. Richardson and Company did not receive a replica model of the Kahu so instead used the Tuna model as a showpiece in their boardroom.

The Hawke’s Bay and Marere, were both sleek and fast with reputations for delivering cargoes of frozen meat in the best possible condition. Owned by the Tyser Line Company they each made two trips per year to London, New York, Australia and New Zealand carrying Hawke’s Bay sheep and lamb carcasses, as well as pelts, wool and tallow.

Described as a fine sturdy trawler, the Nora Niven had on board an ice-making plant, used to keep the fishing catch fresh while out at sea. Coiled up on the port side was a huge trawling net connected to a powerful winch. A gas-lighting plant also ensured continual visibility throughout the night in case a catch needed to be winched aboard.

Sadly all that survives of the four original steamships are these models: despite dedicated service, history has not been kind, as they either floundered then sunk or were sold for scrap.

You will notice that the largest steamer, Marere appears more pristine that the other three: the model required intensive conservation work before it could be displayed. Conservator Detlef Klein from Manuwatu was commissioned to carry out this intricate work.

On the opposite side of the wall are a series of paintings by Charles Basil Norton depicting steamers owned by Richardson and Company Ltd, a coastal shipping line based on exporting wool and meat. These steamers provided a regular service to sheep stations from Cape Runaway to Cape Palliser: delivering stores and other cargo and returning with wool and live animals to the Port of Napier.

Isolated by lack of roads and railways, farmers were wholly reliant upon this coastal service for their livelihoods. The company also ran a fleet of lighters that transported wool from Port Ahuriri to ships anchored in deeper water, as well as a passenger and cargo service that sailed daily between Napier and Wairoa. A series of photographs alongside aptly illustrate the conveyance of wool bales out to a steamer at Akitio.

Take a seat in the small alcove situated next to the models, where there is a projection of Fishing Industry of New Zealand: Trawling in Napier, 1913 showing: a film kindly provided by Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision. The film provides a great insight and sense of quirkiness into the daily life of a fishing trawler, ways of communication and Ahuriri.

When

Sun 22nd Jul 2018, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Jul 2018, 9:30am

Tue 24th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Wed 25th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Thu 26th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Fri 27th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Sat 28th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Sun 29th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Mon 30th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Tue 31st Jul 2018, 9:30am

Wed 1st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 4th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 5th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 6th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 7th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 8th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 9th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 10th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 11th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 12th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 13th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 14th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 15th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 16th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 17th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 18th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 19th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 20th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 21st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 24th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 25th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 26th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 27th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 28th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 29th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 30th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 31st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 1st Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Sep 2018, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Sep 2018, 9:30am

Tue 4th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Wed 5th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Thu 6th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Fri 7th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sat 8th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 9th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Mon 10th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Tue 11th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Wed 12th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Thu 13th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Fri 14th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sat 15th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 16th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Mon 17th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Tue 18th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Wed 19th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Thu 20th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Fri 21st Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Sep 2018, 9:30am

Mon 24th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Tue 25th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Wed 26th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Thu 27th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Fri 28th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sat 29th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 30th Sep 2018, 9:30am

Mon 1st Oct 2018, 9:30am

Tue 2nd Oct 2018, 9:30am

Wed 3rd Oct 2018, 9:30am

Thu 4th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Fri 5th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sat 6th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sun 7th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Mon 8th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Tue 9th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Wed 10th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Thu 11th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Fri 12th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sat 13th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sun 14th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Mon 15th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Tue 16th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Wed 17th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Thu 18th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Fri 19th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sat 20th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sun 21st Oct 2018, 9:30am

Mon 22nd Oct 2018, 9:30am

Tue 23rd Oct 2018, 9:30am

Wed 24th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Thu 25th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Fri 26th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sat 27th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Sun 28th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Mon 29th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Tue 30th Oct 2018, 9:30am

Wed 31st Oct 2018, 9:30am

Thu 1st Nov 2018, 9:30am

Fri 2nd Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sat 3rd Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sun 4th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Mon 5th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Tue 6th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Wed 7th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Thu 8th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Fri 9th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sat 10th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sun 11th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Mon 12th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Tue 13th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Wed 14th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Thu 15th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Fri 16th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sat 17th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sun 18th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Mon 19th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Tue 20th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Wed 21st Nov 2018, 9:30am

Thu 22nd Nov 2018, 9:30am

Fri 23rd Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sat 24th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sun 25th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Mon 26th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Tue 27th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Wed 28th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Thu 29th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Fri 30th Nov 2018, 9:30am

Sat 1st Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Dec 2018, 9:30am

Mon 3rd Dec 2018, 9:30am

Tue 4th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Wed 5th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Thu 6th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Fri 7th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sat 8th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sun 9th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Mon 10th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Tue 11th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Wed 12th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Thu 13th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Fri 14th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sat 15th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sun 16th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Mon 17th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Tue 18th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Wed 19th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Thu 20th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Fri 21st Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sat 22nd Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sun 23rd Dec 2018, 9:30am

Mon 24th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Wed 26th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Thu 27th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Fri 28th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sat 29th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Sun 30th Dec 2018, 9:30am

Mon 31st Dec 2018, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier