Silver: Heirlooms From the Collection Exhibition

1 Tennyson St, Napier

Silver, valued for its rarity and attractive lustre, has for centuries been mined and formed into an extensive range of domestic, personal, religious, and ceremonial objects.

Silver is one of the most versatile and singular precious metals: it is malleable and ductile and has a relatively low melting point, meaning that it can be cast using basic workshop equipment. Pure silver is too soft for making wrought objects, so it is alloyed with small amounts of other metals, including copper, to harden it.

A virtually indestructible material, it was often melted down and refashioned when convention dictated change or during periods of war and economic uncertainty when silver artefacts were converted to bullion or coinage.

Silver can be shaped, decorated and embellished using an extraordinarily diverse range of techniques, from raising and casting to chasing, embossing, engraving, gilding, and piercing.

In the mid-18th century, the production of silverware was revolutionized by the invention of Sheffield plate, made by fusing silver with copper.

This was followed by the introduction of electroplating in the 1840s: a process used to apply very thin coatings of pure silver over a base metal by means of an electric current producing a brilliant surface.

Being a precious metal, silver has always expressed wealth and status. In Britain, to protect the consumer, all luxury articles made of silver or silver gilt were required by law to carry a series of hallmarks: during the nineteenth century, silver items were stamped with a hallmark, a date letter, a maker’s mark, and a silver quality mark.

In Australia and New Zealand law, hallmarking of silver objects has never been required, so makers devised their own marks to give a personal guarantee that the quality was of sterling standard. When a firm’s management changed, the old punches were discarded and a new version was brought into use.

When

Thu 19th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Fri 20th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Sat 21st Sep 2019, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Sep 2019, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Sep 2019, 9:30am

Tue 24th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Wed 25th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Thu 26th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Fri 27th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Sat 28th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Sun 29th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Mon 30th Sep 2019, 9:30am

Tue 1st Oct 2019, 9:30am

Wed 2nd Oct 2019, 9:30am

Thu 3rd Oct 2019, 9:30am

Fri 4th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sat 5th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sun 6th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Mon 7th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Tue 8th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Wed 9th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Thu 10th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Fri 11th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sat 12th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sun 13th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Mon 14th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Tue 15th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Wed 16th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Thu 17th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Fri 18th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sat 19th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sun 20th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Mon 21st Oct 2019, 9:30am

Tue 22nd Oct 2019, 9:30am

Wed 23rd Oct 2019, 9:30am

Thu 24th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Fri 25th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sat 26th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Sun 27th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Mon 28th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Tue 29th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Wed 30th Oct 2019, 9:30am

Thu 31st Oct 2019, 9:30am

Fri 1st Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 2nd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 3rd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Mon 4th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Tue 5th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 6th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 7th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 8th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 9th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 10th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Mon 11th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Tue 12th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 13th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 14th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 15th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 16th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 17th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Mon 18th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Tue 19th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 20th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 21st Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 22nd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 23rd Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 24th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Mon 25th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Tue 26th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Wed 27th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Thu 28th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Fri 29th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sat 30th Nov 2019, 9:30am

Sun 1st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 2nd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 3rd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 4th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 5th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 6th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 7th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 8th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 9th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 10th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 11th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 12th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 13th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 14th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 15th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 16th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 17th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Wed 18th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 19th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 20th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 21st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 22nd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 24th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Thu 26th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Fri 27th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sat 28th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Sun 29th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Mon 30th Dec 2019, 9:30am

Tue 31st Dec 2019, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier