One Turn of the Earth

16 Byron St, Napier

Mixed media painting by Ardie Rankin.

Enjoy the first mixed media exhibition of local artist Ardie Rankin, who explores materiality of his local environment and transforms his experiments into paintings.

Ardie is inspired by his natural surroundings and the rich symbolism of Maori culture. He is fascinated by the many meanings and associations represented by iconic Maori designs such as the tiki, and has a deep understanding of his own place within this narrative. Myths and legends fire up his imagination. Through his work, Ardie is weaving his own story of belonging.

Ardie was born in Rotorua, and has fond memories of jumping off the Waka Bridge with his mates while his Dad worked as Head Chef at the old Geiser Hotel. Later, Ardie’s own career was focused on working with the large machinery of Caterpillar and Gough Gough & Hainer, first in the Parts Warehouse then moving through to Operations and lastly Marketing. From this he learned all about the importance of presentation; ‘Unless you get the marketing right, the sales will not follow’.

Ardie’s art practice takes place in his shed. He is a kiwi bloke through and through, who loves nothing better than tinkering with metal and in particular copper, to be used as surfaces for his painting. The alchemy that takes place between materials is what fascinates him. His experimentation allows him to play with the sometimes unexpected results of substances reacting to exposure to chemicals or the elements.

It drives him to try more, and combine etched metal with paint effects to see what he can come up with. This material play, combined with the subject matter that inspires him results in his trademark textural patchwork-like compositions that feature the unmistakable iconography of New Zealand.

Ardie was drawn to Hawke’s Bay as a place to live eight years ago. He is proud Grandfather to two grandsons who live locally, and two granddaughters who live in Australia. The birth of the eldest grandson is the reason he and his wife moved to Hawke’s Bay, and he says there are no regrets.

Join Ardie to celebrate the opening of his exhibition, Friday 29 February at 5-7pm. All welcome! Light refreshments will be served.

Ardie wishes to thank Te Awanga Estate, who are proudly supporting the event.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 29th Feb 2020, 10:00am

Sun 1st Mar 2020, 10:00am

Mon 2nd Mar 2020, 10:00am

Tue 3rd Mar 2020, 10:00am

Wed 4th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Thu 5th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Fri 6th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sat 7th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sun 8th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Mon 9th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Tue 10th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Wed 11th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Thu 12th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Fri 13th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sat 14th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sun 15th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Mon 16th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Tue 17th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Wed 18th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Thu 19th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Fri 20th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sat 21st Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sun 22nd Mar 2020, 10:00am

Mon 23rd Mar 2020, 10:00am

Tue 24th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Wed 25th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Thu 26th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Fri 27th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sat 28th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Sun 29th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Mon 30th Mar 2020, 10:00am

Tue 31st Mar 2020, 10:00am

Where

The CAN, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron St, Napier