'Ocean and I' Exhibition

546 Marine Parade, Napier

Over 30 artists bringing their connection with the ocean to life through a month long art exhibition.

We’re inspiring visitors to reflect on their connection to the ocean to them in our inaugural art exhibition ‘Ocean and I’ at the National Aquarium of New Zealand from 1 – 31 October.

By showcasing various artworks, including photography, sound, paintings, sculptures and more, over 30 New Zealand artists share their own love of the ocean through carefully selected pieces, some specifically created for the exhibition. The artworks are presented throughout the National Aquarium, with some pieces available to purchase.

As visitors move through the exhibition there will be opportunities to pause and reflect on one’s own memories and experiences in relation to our all-important moana, as well as contributing to a community artwork piece being created across the month in our oceanarium.

Our ocean is inspiring and has long served as a source of inspiration for various forms of art work. We’re all connected to the ocean whether we realise it or not. It is responsible for every second breath we take and makes up 90% of the earth’s total water source, covering more than 70% of its surface area. It’s vastly unexplored and rich in diversity of living things and resources we rely on daily.

Come and join us to see these beautiful works and take the chance to consider the importance of the ocean in your life.

When

Sun 2nd Oct 2022, 9:00am

Mon 3rd Oct 2022, 9:00am

Tue 4th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Wed 5th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Thu 6th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Fri 7th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sat 8th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sun 9th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Mon 10th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Tue 11th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Wed 12th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Thu 13th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Fri 14th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sat 15th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sun 16th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Mon 17th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Tue 18th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Wed 19th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Thu 20th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Fri 21st Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sat 22nd Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sun 23rd Oct 2022, 9:00am

Mon 24th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Tue 25th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Wed 26th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Thu 27th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Fri 28th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sat 29th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Sun 30th Oct 2022, 9:00am

Mon 31st Oct 2022, 9:00am

Where

National Aquarium of New Zealand, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

546 Marine Parade, Napier