Nyree Dawn Porter - From Local Stage to Global Stardom

1 Tennyson St, Napier

As a teenager in the 1950s, Nyree Dawn Porter inspired her ballet students by painting graceful dancers directly onto the living room walls of her family’s Napier home, where she held lessons.

Now you can follow Nyree’s journey to international success in theatre, film and television when you visit the exhibition ‘Nyree Dawn Porter: From Local Stage to Global Stardom’.

Nyree’s talents in performance won her the Miss Cinema competition, which led to a trip to London for a screen test. After making her mark in the UK theatre scene, she became a television star in the BBC production of The Forsyte Saga, watched by millions around the world.

Later in her career, Nyree received an OBE for services to TV and Film, and was the subject of a This is Your Life episode in England. She continued performing right up until her unexpected death in 2001, at the age of 61.

The exhibition showcases Nyree’s preserved paintings, photos and newspaper clippings of her success along with excerpts from the original Forsyte Saga on screen. Costumes inspired by Nyree’s paintings are available for people of all ages to dress up and strike a pose.

Nyree Dawn Porter was an inspiring woman who went from local stage to global stardom. Visit MTG Hawke’s Bay and share her story of success…

When

Sun 22nd Jul 2018, 9:30am

Mon 23rd Jul 2018, 9:30am

Tue 24th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Wed 25th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Thu 26th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Fri 27th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Sat 28th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Sun 29th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Mon 30th Jul 2018, 9:30am

Tue 31st Jul 2018, 9:30am

Wed 1st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 2nd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 3rd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 4th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 5th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 6th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 7th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 8th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 9th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 10th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 11th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 12th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 13th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 14th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 15th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 16th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 17th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 18th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 19th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 20th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 21st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 22nd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 23rd Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 24th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 25th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sun 26th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Mon 27th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Tue 28th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Wed 29th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Thu 30th Aug 2018, 9:30am

Fri 31st Aug 2018, 9:30am

Sat 1st Sep 2018, 9:30am

Sun 2nd Sep 2018, 9:30am

Where

MTG Hawke's Bay, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

1 Tennyson St, Napier