Metamorphize; The Art of Altered Couture by Naomi Prowse

16 Byron Street, Napier

The collection of work in this exhibition is offered in the spirit of beauty, sustainability, and to our grandmothers and the wonderful work they did, often in trying circumstances and with limited resources.

Naomi Prowse is a ‘Re-Maker and Re-User’ of things.

Her approach to this work involves deconstructing a garment or textile piece and rebuilding it with unique design elements that become apparent during the making.

Salvaged materials come with their own life stories. Working within these narratives is a creative journey of discovery, and a real honour as many of the pieces Naomi uses have already been lovingly hand made before coming into her care.

Naomi started making as a child and has indulged in many media over the years. However, she finds the theatre of creating these textile pieces so fulfilling that it just keeps drawing her back in…

Join Naomi to celebrate the opening of her exhibition in the Small Gallery and CAN foyer space on Friday 12 July, 5-7pm. All welcome!

You can also book a space on Naomi’s Re-Fashion Workshop, running on two consecutive Saturdays, 20 and 27 July to coincide with her exhibition. Naomi will guide you and show you how to re-purpose a jacket, coat or woollen piece into something unique and interesting, exploring her various upcycling techniques. You can find more details here: http://www.thecan.co.nz/can-listings/re-fashion-workshop-with-naomi-prowse/

When

Fri 19th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Sat 20th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Sun 21st Jul 2019, 10:00am

Mon 22nd Jul 2019, 10:00am

Tue 23rd Jul 2019, 10:00am

Wed 24th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Thu 25th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Fri 26th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Sat 27th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Sun 28th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Mon 29th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Tue 30th Jul 2019, 10:00am

Wed 31st Jul 2019, 10:00am

Thu 1st Aug 2019, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier