Merging Cultures: Recent Work by Ola Sawaie

16 Byron Street, Napier

Ola Sawaie is an artist and a designer originally from Jordan in the Middle East, now living in Hawke’s Bay. Ola loves working with watercolor and mixed media and exploring new styles of painting. Her qualifications include a Bachelor degree in Arts and Design from Yarmouk University in Jordan, and two Masters degrees – one in women's studies from the University of Jordan, and one in film making from Kingston University in London.

Ola taught art and design for 5 years at the German-Jordanian University in Amman and supervised a number of graduation projects.

Ola has developed a passion for mixing cultural designs within her art practice. She has been experimenting with merging Maori design with Islamic geometry and Arabesque design for this exhibition. Her original piece was selected by Bill Milbank for the Hawkes Bay Art Review 2019.

Ola believes merging art influences from different cultures helps build bridges – as art is a universal language. View her work in the CAN foyer for the month of December.

Meet Ola and help her celebrate the opening of her exhibition on Friday 6 December, 5-7pm. All welcome!

Take a look around...

When

Fri 13th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sat 14th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sun 15th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Mon 16th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Tue 17th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Wed 18th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Thu 19th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Fri 20th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sat 21st Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sun 22nd Dec 2019, 10:00am

Mon 23rd Dec 2019, 10:00am

Tue 24th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Fri 27th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sat 28th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Sun 29th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Mon 30th Dec 2019, 10:00am

Tue 31st Dec 2019, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier