Marine Metered Squared Project

Cnr of Russell St & Heretaunga St, Hastings

Marine Metered Squared (mm2) - Get involved in this exciting nationwide marine Citizen Science project developed by the NZ Marine Studies Centre, University of Otago. It is easy, free and heaps of fun. Anyone can take part – individuals, families, schools and community groups.

Use the school holidays to organise a group of friends and whanau for a fun day out surveying your local seashore. The NZ Marine Studies Centre, University of Otago, is encouraging everyone to participate in long term monitoring of their marine environment – the Marine Metre Squared. The project involves surveying your local seashore, and finding out where the plants and animals that live between the tides are found around New Zealand.

Pick up your Marine Metered Squared kit from the Hastings i-SITE, Cnr Russell & Heretaunga Streets, Hastings. The kit contains the Marine Metered Squared flyer, the Marine Metered Squared Information Sheet, the Northern NZ Rocky Shore Guide plus some string to make your square when you get to the seashore.

Alternatively you can visit the mm2 website www.mm2.net.nz and download your own flyer, information sheet and Rocky Shore Guide. Don't forget to take some string with you to make your square.

When you have completed your survey go online to the Marine Metered Squared website www.mm2.net.nz and upload your data. Better still, find out more information about this citizen science project from the website before you start.

You can also find out where other species live where using the simple mapping and analysis tools or get help with species identification, take part in new projects and challenges and suggest mini-projects of your own.

The Marine Metre Squared website, mm2.net.nz, is a citizen-science project and is owned and managed by the NZ Marine Studies Centre, University of Otago.

This event is part of Conservation Week 2019 - www.conservationweek.org.nz

When

Thu 19th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Fri 20th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Sat 21st Sep 2019, 9:00am

Sun 22nd Sep 2019, 9:00am

Mon 23rd Sep 2019, 9:00am

Tue 24th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Wed 25th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Thu 26th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Fri 27th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Sat 28th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Sun 29th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Mon 30th Sep 2019, 9:00am

Tue 1st Oct 2019, 9:00am

Wed 2nd Oct 2019, 9:00am

Thu 3rd Oct 2019, 9:00am

Fri 4th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Sat 5th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Sun 6th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Mon 7th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Tue 8th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Wed 9th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Thu 10th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Fri 11th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Sat 12th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Sun 13th Oct 2019, 9:00am

Where

Hastings iSite, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

Cnr of Russell St & Heretaunga St, Hastings