History of Art In Central Hawke's Bay

23 High St, Waipawa

The Central Hawkes Bay Settlers Museum is opening an Exhibition “The History of Art in Central Hawke's Bay” at 6pm on Friday, 23rd March.

The aim of the Exhibition is to demonstrate that the Arts, in particular painting has been active in Central Hawke's Bay since the time of earliest settlement through to the present day.

The period during the late 1960’s and early 1970’s saw the formation of the various local Arts Groups and emergence of prominent CHB artists such as Richard Moorehead, Gary Waldrom and Pauline O’Sullivan, artists whose works have been hung and exhibited in major New Zealand Galleries.

This will be an interesting Exhibition, with examples of some of the more historic paintings relating to Central Hawke's Bay shown and up to and including examples of contemporary modern art.

The Exhibition will demonstrate different concepts such as mural and street art and the diverse themes that were evolved through such events as the Norsewear Art Awards and of course, the annual/bi-annual exhibitions that are still held by the various Central Hawkes Bay Art Groups.

The Exhibition Opening will be held on Friday 23rd March at 6pm and the Exhibition will run until Friday 25th May.

Take a look around...

When

Fri 27th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 28th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sun 29th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Mon 30th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Tue 1st May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 2nd May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 3rd May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 4th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 5th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 6th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 7th May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 8th May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 9th May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 10th May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 11th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 12th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 13th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 14th May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 15th May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 16th May 2018, 10:00am

Thu 17th May 2018, 10:00am

Fri 18th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 19th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 20th May 2018, 10:00am

Mon 21st May 2018, 10:00am

Tue 22nd May 2018, 10:00am

Wed 23rd May 2018, 10:00am

Where

Central Hawke's Bay Settlers Museum, Waipawa, Central Hawke's Bay

23 High St, Waipawa