He Tirohanga ki Tai: Dismantling the Doctrine of Discovery

Stout St, Gisborne

Exhibition/whakaaturanga

Opening: 07/12/18 5:30 pm.

He Tirohanga ki Tai: Dismantling the Doctrine of Discovery is an art exhibition and public forum that addresses the historical fallacy of the European ‘discovery’ of Aotearoa New Zealand. As the title suggests, he tirohanga ki tai (a view from the shore), the exhibition provides an indigenous perspective looking out from our place in the world.

The exhibition features works by Robyn Kahukiwa, Rachael Rakena, Ngāhina Hohaia, Tina Ngata, Michel Tuffery, Tawera Tahuri, Israel Tangaroa Birch, Rangi Kipa, Dr Johnson Witehira, Johnny Moetara, Martin Awa Clarke Langdon and Numa MacKenzie.

"Alongside the exhibition will be a series of talks and public forums on the perpetuation of the ‘discovery’ mythology." - Reuben Friend, Curator

Take a look around...

When

Sat 15th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Sat 22nd Dec 2018, 10:00am

Sat 29th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Sat 5th Jan 2019, 10:00am

Sat 12th Jan 2019, 10:00am

Sat 19th Jan 2019, 10:00am

Sat 26th Jan 2019, 10:00am

Sat 2nd Feb 2019, 10:00am

Sat 9th Feb 2019, 10:00am

Sat 16th Feb 2019, 10:00am

Sat 23rd Feb 2019, 10:00am

Sat 2nd Mar 2019, 10:00am

Sat 9th Mar 2019, 10:00am

Sun 10th Mar 2019, 1:30pm

Where

Tairawhiti Museum, Gisborne, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

Stout St, Gisborne

Ticket Information

General Admission  $5.00

Local Resident Admission  $2.00

Free Admission on Mondays  $0.00

Buy Tickets

Restrictions:  All Ages