Dali Susanto - Today is the Day

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

Dali Susanto was born in the art capital of Indonesia, Yogyakarta and was brought up surrounded by artists. His mother and father owned and still run a batik gallery and studio where they teach local and international tourists the skills in batik work. Named after Salvador Dali, his parents hoped he would follow in the renowned artist’s footsteps and become an artist.

Since moving to New Zealand in 2007, Dali’s career as an artist has taken off and he has become a real identity in the flourishing Hawke's Bay arts scene. He has held several exhibitions at galleries in Hastings and Napier and has exhibited in Auckland and in the Taupo Museum. Dali produces bold paintings and designs, usually using acrylics, often resembling prints.

In this exhibition Dali has continued to expand his practice, painting all surfaces of the Alcove Gallery, including walls, floor, ceiling and the surfaces of re-purposed furniture. Dali’s whimsical energetic personality shines through in these works, emanating his muralist and pop art sensibility.

The influence of iconic artists such as Keith Haring is evident, but also that of his own upbringing growing up with his batik artist mother in the creative hub of Yogyakata, Indonesia.

Take a look around...

When

Sat 15th May 2021, 10:00am

Sun 16th May 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 17th May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 18th May 2021, 10:00am

Wed 19th May 2021, 10:00am

Thu 20th May 2021, 10:00am

Fri 21st May 2021, 10:00am

Sat 22nd May 2021, 10:00am

Sun 23rd May 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 24th May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 25th May 2021, 10:00am

Wed 26th May 2021, 10:00am

Thu 27th May 2021, 10:00am

Fri 28th May 2021, 10:00am

Sat 29th May 2021, 10:00am

Sun 30th May 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 31st May 2021, 10:00am

Tue 1st Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 2nd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 3rd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Fri 4th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sat 5th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sun 6th Jun 2021, 1:00pm

Tue 8th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 9th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 10th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Fri 11th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sat 12th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sun 13th Jun 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 14th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Tue 15th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 16th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 17th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Fri 18th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sat 19th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sun 20th Jun 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 21st Jun 2021, 10:00am

Tue 22nd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 23rd Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 24th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Fri 25th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sat 26th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Sun 27th Jun 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 28th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Tue 29th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Wed 30th Jun 2021, 10:00am

Thu 1st Jul 2021, 10:00am

Fri 2nd Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sat 3rd Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sun 4th Jul 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 5th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Tue 6th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Wed 7th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Thu 8th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Fri 9th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sat 10th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sun 11th Jul 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 12th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Tue 13th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Wed 14th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Thu 15th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Fri 16th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sat 17th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sun 18th Jul 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 19th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Tue 20th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Wed 21st Jul 2021, 10:00am

Thu 22nd Jul 2021, 10:00am

Fri 23rd Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sat 24th Jul 2021, 10:00am

Sun 25th Jul 2021, 1:00pm

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings