Da Vinci Machines and Robotics

Stout St, Gisborne

This award-winning international touring exhibition invites visitors to delve into the mind of Renaissance artist, scientist and inventor Leonardo da Vinci and showcases many of his iconic inventions.

On loan from the Museum of Leonardo da Vinci in Florence, Italy, the hand-crafted exhibition brings together ingenious creations devised more than 500 years ago. Many of the pieces are interactive and the collection brings to life da Vinci’s most important and impressive world firsts including the bicycle, hang glider, the aerial screw (the precursor to the helicopter), the scuba suit, a mechanical lion and the incredible robot drummer.

The exhibition is suited to all ages and visitors will be able to touch and handle many of the models to gain a first-hand appreciation of how they work.

For information about the Da Vinci Machines and Robotics school education programme contact education@tairawhitimuseum.org.nz.

Created by Artisans of Florence – International and Niccolai Teknoart S.N.C. (Firenze)

Take a look around...


Sat 24th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Sat 31st Mar 2018, 10:00am

Sat 7th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 14th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 21st Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 28th Apr 2018, 10:00am

Sat 5th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 12th May 2018, 10:00am

Sat 19th May 2018, 10:00am

Sun 20th May 2018, 1:30am


Tairawhiti Museum, Gisborne, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

Stout St, Gisborne

Ticket Information

General Admission  $5.00

Local Resident Admission  $2.00

Free Admission on Mondays  $0.00

Buy Tickets

Restrictions:  All Ages