Brushed Off - An Exhibition By 3 Local Artists

16 Byron Street, Napier

Brushed Off is a collaborative exhibition by three local Hawke's Bay artists. This is their second exhibition at Creative Arts Napier this year.

About the artists.

Karen Panton:
'I have been painting, and selling my paintings for a number of years now. I have featured in the NZ Artist – including being selected for that month’s cover picture. I have also won prizes in several competitions with my art. My twin, Gail, and I have always had very vivid imaginations, thanks largely to our upbringing, where love, laughter and mindfulness were part of the norm.

My paintings are probably classed as real/surreal. Birds and trees are my passion, but I cannot stop tinkering, and often personify my subjects. If I am painting a cold scene my birds will often have boots and a hat. My ideas are mostly from my imagination although I will use reference for the more ‘serious’ parts of my paintings'.

Gail Davidson:
'I have been painting for more than 10 years now and have been very fortunate to have sold many of my paintings throughout NZ and overseas. I mostly use acrylic paints and love the use of bright, bold colours. I consider myself a painter of humour and am as far from being a realistic painter as the sun is from the moon, with my characters finding their shape to suit the story being told. I like my paintings to speak for themselves by tempting the viewer into a discussion, a smile or a chuckle'.

Christine Parnell:
'I have been painting for more than 18 years and work mainly in acrylic and watercolour, with some mixed media as well. I paint a wide range of subjects and enjoy portraying people and local scenes, finding the immediacy of watercolour an ideal medium for this.

I have found that with acrylics my style is becoming more abstract. My artwork can be found throughout NZ and also overseas. I teach watercolour at my home in Greenmeadows, and also open ‘Bent Gum Gallery’ there during the summer months'.

Take a look around...

When

Fri 23rd Nov 2018, 10:00am

Sat 24th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Sun 25th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Mon 26th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Tue 27th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Wed 28th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Thu 29th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Fri 30th Nov 2018, 10:00am

Sat 1st Dec 2018, 10:00am

Sun 2nd Dec 2018, 10:00am

Mon 3rd Dec 2018, 10:00am

Tue 4th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Wed 5th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Thu 6th Dec 2018, 10:00am

Where

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier