Ashton Lexie Jamieson and Sharleen Gamble: Young Art

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings

Ashton Lexie Jamieson and Sharleen Gamble: Young Art | Foyer Gallery

7 August – 24 October 2021

The contemporary concept of young art is work not defined by the age of the creator, but by the stage the artist is at in their career.

This exhibition brings together the work of two Hawke’s Bay artists working in two different disciplines who have both reached a significant stage in their career development.

Sharleen Gamble and Ashton Lexie Jamieson are both recent graduates of IDEAschool at EIT and they are both wanting, through their work, to create an awareness of the quality and diversity of contemporary female artists at work in Hawke’s Bay.

Sharleen is a sculptor who celebrates materials in themselves, including their embodied histories, and she works to enable their narrative possibilities, and material voice to emerge.

She assembles wood, steel, used materials, and found objects, fabricating abstract forms through exploration, haptic and chance processes to generate material conversations.

Ashton Lexie Jamieson is a teacher of Visual Arts at Sacred Heart College. Ashton is obsessed with paper, thread, pre-loved domestic objects and above all her process. Ladies with collaged armour from repurposed magazines form the paper soldiers in ‘Ashton’s Army’ – a growing collection that is the product of a femmage-based methodolgy and regime, where strict rules converse wth her innate studio happenings and scraps are saved and sorted as precious items.

Ashton seeks to contribute and further nourish an enduring historical and contemporary feminine language; as the decorative, quiet-yet-quirky revolution that her practice is and continues to become.

Image credit:
Sharleen Gamble, Ashton Lexie Jamieson, Young Art, 2021

When

Sat 7th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sun 8th Aug 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 9th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Tue 10th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Wed 11th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Thu 12th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Fri 13th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sat 14th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sun 15th Aug 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 16th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Tue 17th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Wed 18th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Thu 19th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Fri 20th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sat 21st Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sun 22nd Aug 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 23rd Aug 2021, 10:00am

Tue 24th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Wed 25th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Thu 26th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Fri 27th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sat 28th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Sun 29th Aug 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 30th Aug 2021, 10:00am

Tue 31st Aug 2021, 10:00am

Wed 1st Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 2nd Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 3rd Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sat 4th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sun 5th Sep 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 6th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Tue 7th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Wed 8th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 9th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 10th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sat 11th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sun 12th Sep 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 13th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Tue 14th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Wed 15th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 16th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 17th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sat 18th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sun 19th Sep 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 20th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Tue 21st Sep 2021, 10:00am

Wed 22nd Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 23rd Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 24th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sat 25th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Sun 26th Sep 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 27th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Tue 28th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Wed 29th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Thu 30th Sep 2021, 10:00am

Fri 1st Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sat 2nd Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 3rd Oct 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 4th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Tue 5th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Wed 6th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Thu 7th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Fri 8th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sat 9th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 10th Oct 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 11th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Tue 12th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Wed 13th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Thu 14th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Fri 15th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sat 16th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 17th Oct 2021, 1:00pm

Mon 18th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Tue 19th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Wed 20th Oct 2021, 10:00am

Thu 21st Oct 2021, 10:00am

Fri 22nd Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sat 23rd Oct 2021, 10:00am

Sun 24th Oct 2021, 1:00pm

Where

Hastings City Art Gallery, Hastings, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

201 Eastbourne St East, Hastings