My Hawke's Bay Lifestyle

16 Byron Street, Napier

The exhibition of Christine Pearse’s acrylic paintings in the CAN Foyer for the month of March demonstrates how she is inspired by her local surroundings and environment.

She lives on a rural property, and sees native birds each day, as well as the animals they keep on the property. Christine has enjoyed painting these birds and some of the animals.

Christine lives very close to a beautiful beach which also inspires her to paint, as she walks there frequently. Travelling to work, she passes the mighty Sleeping Giant (Te Mata Peak), and the Christ Church at Pukehou, which she has also painted.

Christine (Chrissie) and her husband Simon have lived in New Zealand for 15 years, and are originally from England. She works at the Hawkes Bay DHB where she has been employed for 10 years.

“We live in rural Hawkes Bay where we have been for nearly 4 years. I enjoy beautiful views along with all the bird life which I love to see every day. We have kereru, tui, piwakawaka and kingfisher to name but a few.

We have some stock; cattle and sheep, along with 2 goats, some hens and a naughty rooster and 4 ducks. It has been an interesting journey learning about managing a rural property, having been raised in a large city in England. We try to be as self sufficient as possible. My husband grows lots of vegetables.”

Chrissie really enjoyed art as a school student and originally wanted to complete an art degree and then have a career in the art world. However, she ended up as a nurse specialising in working with those who have an intellectual disability as well as in mental health.

Chrissie finds painting a very mindful experience, which helps take away any of the work day stresses.

“What has been wonderful for me as an artist, is to join a class once a week, run by Helen Kerridge at Humanity Books and Art Supplies. This has really helped me become a better artist as well as meeting some really nice, like- minded people.”

Take a look around...


Sun 18th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Mon 19th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Tue 20th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Wed 21st Mar 2018, 10:00am

Thu 22nd Mar 2018, 10:00am

Fri 23rd Mar 2018, 10:00am

Sat 24th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Sun 25th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Mon 26th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Tue 27th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Wed 28th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Thu 29th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Fri 30th Mar 2018, 10:00am

Sat 31st Mar 2018, 10:00am


Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, Napier, Hawke's Bay / Gisborne

16 Byron Street, Napier