Recovery: Women's Overseas Service in WW1

All welcome to attend the launch of this new exhibition and publication at 5pm on 24 March 2017. There will be a re-enactment, WW1 inspired food and floor talk as part of the launch.

Making visible the work that New Zealand women undertook overseas during World War One (WW1) is what this exhibition is about. I wanted to recover a range of New Zealand women’s work outside of New Zealand during WW1 as well as the research I undertook to recover their stories.

The women featured have connections to the East Coast. Between 1915 and 1919 they served with the armed services or as volunteers with 12 different service organisations within war zones in Turkey, Egypt, France, Serbia, Greece, Italy, Palestine, East Africa as well as in England. Many were highly decorated. All who served had their lives changed forever.

That so many women and men from the East Coast served overseas in WW1 is remarkable for the relatively small population at the time. The exhibition documents their bravery and self–sacrifice as well as their everyday work often interspersed with discomfort, danger and destruction. Wherever possible, their own words are used to describe their experiences of war. A number of descendants of the women have been involved.

Because only a sample of the women could be included in the exhibition I have written a 172 page illustrated book providing further detail plus annotated profiles of other women from the East Coast who served overseas in WW1.

This exhibition is the result of collaboration between the Tairāwhiti Museum, the Eastern Institute of Technology (EIT), The Gisborne Herald and the Nurses and Midwives of Tairāwhiti (NAMOT).

Kay Morris Matthews.
The publication will be available at the museum from 24 March onwards, retail price $35.00.

Web: http://www.tairawhitimuseum.org.nz/
Restrictions: All Ages

Dates

Fri 24 Mar, 5:00pm-7:00pm
Sat 25 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 26 Mar, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 27 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 28 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 29 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 30 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 31 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 01 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 02 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 03 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 04 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 05 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 06 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 07 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 08 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 09 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 10 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 11 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 12 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 13 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 14 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 15 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 16 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 17 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 18 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 19 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 20 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 21 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 22 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 23 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 24 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 25 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Wed 26 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 27 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 28 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 29 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 30 Apr, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 01 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 02 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 03 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 04 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 05 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 06 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 07 May, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 08 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 09 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 10 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 11 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 12 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 13 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 14 May, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 15 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 16 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 17 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 18 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 19 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 20 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 21 May, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 22 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 23 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 24 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 25 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 26 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 27 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 28 May, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 29 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 30 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 31 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 01 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 02 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 03 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 04 Jun, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 05 Jun, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Tue 06 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 07 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 08 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 09 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 10 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 11 Jun, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 12 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 13 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 14 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 15 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 16 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 17 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 18 Jun, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 19 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 20 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 21 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 22 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 23 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 24 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 25 Jun, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 26 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 27 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 28 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 29 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 30 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 01 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 02 Jul, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 03 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 04 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 05 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 06 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 07 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 08 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 09 Jul, 1:30pm-4:00pm
Mon 10 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Tue 11 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 12 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 13 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri 14 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 15 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 16 Jul, 1:30pm-4:00pm

Events Calendar

View all events