Mahunga

Family photographs are one of our greatest personal treasures. The family photo album is the one item people consider they would ‘grab’ in a fire. We see them as a collection of life’s memories rather than an assemblage of images.

The museum regularly receives donations of family photographic collections. Some are beautifully set out and each photograph described and identified, some sadly are ‘found’, perhaps in an attic, with little or no information on the people and places depicted within.

The Mahunga Collection is a collection of early twentieth century photographs donated by the Briant family. Most of the family can be identified, dates can be estimated, places and sites can be recognised but a lot of the occasions and particulars have been lost in the passing of time.

The Mahunga Collection depicts the establishment of the Mahunga farm station situated on the Te Wera Road near Matawai. The images transport us to the early 1900s and an insight to family and farming life in an isolated rural environment.

The museum wishes to thank the Briant family for their donation, creating this exhibition and to acknowledge the long-time support of Bob Briant.

Web: http://www.tairawhitimuseum.org.nz/exhibits-galleries/current-calendar/Current-Calender.asp
Restrictions: All Ages

Dates

Mon 12 Dec, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 19 Dec, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 26 Dec, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 02 Jan, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 09 Jan, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 16 Jan, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 23 Jan, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 30 Jan, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 06 Feb, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 13 Feb, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 20 Feb, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 27 Feb, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 06 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 13 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 20 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 27 Mar, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 03 Apr, 10:00am-4:00pm
Wed 03 May, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sat 03 Jun, 10:00am-4:00pm
Mon 03 Jul, 10:00am-4:00pm
Thu 03 Aug, 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun 03 Sep, 10:00am-4:00pm

Events Calendar

View all events