Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky Orchestral Concert

This intimate concert offers three very different perspectives from Russian composers. The programme opens with Shostakovich's Chamber Symphony Op.110b, which gives a glimpse into the soul of a Soviet artist tormented by years of persecution by the communist party.

His first piano concerto follows, No.1 in C minor Op 35. Coming from his happier youth this composition contains a vibrant selection of music, sometimes serious, sometimes funny, for the perfectly matched combination of solo piano (Matteo Napoli) solo trumpet (Thomas Wilkinson) and string orchestra (Hawke's Bay Orchestra).

Finally, Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings is an elegant work that Tchaikovsky regarded as one of his finest. A most enjoyable concert for your utmost enjoyment.

Restrictions: All Ages


Cost Type: General Admission Adult - $39
Cost Type: General Admission Student - $15


Sat 08 Apr, 7:30pm-9:30pm

Events Calendar

View all events